Indian Certificate of Secondary Education

The Indian Certificate of Secondary Education (ICSE) is an assessment directed by the Council for the Indian School Certificate Examinations, a private board intended to give an assessment in a course of general training, as per the suggestions of the New Education Policy 1986 (India), with the help of English.


In the subjects where there is more than one paper (e.g., Science), the imprints acquired in the subject are determined by taking the normal of the multitude of papers in the subject. Up-and-comers showing up for the assessment need to concentrate on six or seven subjects, with one to three papers in each subject. This makes for an aggregate of eight to eleven papers, contingent upon the subjects.

For classes IX, X (ICSE)

  • Group 1 (Compulsory subjects)

  • English

  • A Second language OR A Modern Foreign Language

  • History, Civics & Geography

  • Group 2 (Any 2/3 subjects)

  • Commercial Studies

  • Economics

  • Mathematics

  • Environmental Science

  • Science (Physics, Chemistry, Biology)

  • A Modern Foreign Language

  • A Classical Language

  • Group 3 (Any 1 subject)

  • Art

  • Commercial applications

  • Cookery

  • Computer Applications

  • Economic applications

  • Environmental Applications

  • Fashion Designing

  • Home Science

  • Hospitality Management

  • Mass media and communications

  • Modern Foreign Languages

  • Performing Arts

  • Physical Education

  • Technical drawing Applications

  • Yoga

  • SUPW and Community Service (compulsory graded subject)

For classes XI, XII (ISC)

Understudies are permitted to pick any three/four/five out of the accompanying with the 6th one, English is necessary. Subjects are presented in a variety of mixes, in light of the surge of training, and school picked.